City Council


The Athens City Council is composed of a single council member from each of the five council districts in Athens. They are chosen by election that is held every four years.

The Athens City Council votes on all budgets, ordinances and contracts for City of Athens and Athens Utilities.  According to State Law, the City Council must also appoint the City Clerk, Fire Chief and Police Chief.  The Athens City Council also appoints the members of the Athens School Board and appoints members to the Council on Aging and Hospital Board.

Council Members
Click the member name for contact and biographical information

District 1- Chris Seibert

District 2- Harold Wales

District 3- Open

District 4- Joseph Cannon

District 5- Wayne Harper


pdfClick here for Map of City Council Districts


Click for a list of City Council Minutes

Copyright© 2014 City of Athens Alabama. All Rights Reserved