City Council



The Athens City Council is comprised of five council members, one from each of the five council districts in Athens. They are chosen by election that is held every four years.


The Athens City Council votes on all budgets, ordinances, and contracts for City of Athens and Athens Utilities. According to State Law, the City Council must also appoint the City Clerk, Fire Chief, and Police Chief. The Athens City Council also appoints the members of the Athens School Board and appoints members to the Council on Aging and other entities.