Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
You register in person or via phone at the Athens Municipal Court. The cost is $100 and it is due at the time of registration. Please refer to the Defensive Driving School section for eligibility requirements.
Show All Answers
Click on the link below, fill out the form, submit it to our office online. All requests must be submitted no later that 4:30 pm on the Friday prior to your court date. Magistrates do not have the authority to continue all cases. Some will require the Judge’s approval. Submission of a request does not guarantee its acceptance.
If today is your court date, you need to get to court as soon as possible. Once the Judge leaves the bench, a warrant will be issued for your arrest and your driving privileges will be suspended.
You can email firstname.lastname@example.org and request a new traffic waiver.
Please contact the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency. To get a list of their offices, click on the link provided, this will take you to Alea.com. Once you are there, put a check mark in the reinstatement box and hit enter, it will show you the the ten reinstatement offices and all their information.
Any payment arrangements, other than paying in full, will require the Judge’s approval. This can be done on your court date. Once payment amount and frequency have been established, we will gladly process your partial payment.
An arraignment date is the opportunity to be informed of the charge(s) filed against you and to enter a plea of guilty or not guilty. If you plead guilty, your fine and court cost will be assessed that day and a payment due date or partial payments will be established. If you plead not guilty, your case will be set on a later date for trial. A trial is a formal judicial proceeding where evidence is presented by both sides. This will be a trial without a jury.
If you believe that someone has committed a crime against you, within the city limits of Athens, Alabama, you must file a police report with the Athens Police Department. After that report is approved, you may pick it up from their records department at the cost of $10. Once you have done so, you will bring your report across the hall to the Court Clerk’s office and a Magistrate will guide you through the next step of the process.